Testimonials

  • August 2019

 Stayed 1 night before a local Rock festival.

“Amazing location, fantastic building. Lots of history. Charles was an attentive host, personally cooking us Breakfast in the morning. (Charlotte was away at the time...)
Almost felt like you were staying over at your friends Country House!
Fully recommended and we'll be definitely be coming back at some point.”

 

                                                                                                                                                         C.Jordan,

 

  • July 2019

Wonderful house, fantastic hosts

“The owners of Breedon Hall, Charlotte and Charles, could not have been more helpful during our 3 night stay. We were using the house as a base for our daughter's wedding in a nearby village. The rooms were beautiful, the food was excellent and the hosts went above and beyond to make sure that things went smoothly for us. I would have no hesitation in recommending Breedon Hall.”

                                                                                                                                                                      Simon F,

  • July 2019

Superb!

“This is a fantastic place to stay! Charles and Charlotte (owners) are very genuine in their warm welcome. The room was great, clean and comfy and breakfast was varied and plentiful. I had the granola which was handmade by Charlotte (best I have had!) and a full hearty breakfast.”

                                                                                                                                                                        Maz T

  • July 2019

Wonderful stay

“We booked for 3 nights in a mews cottage for a family wedding and we were thrilled with the accommodation. The mews had everything you needed in self catering with great decor and a lovely outside space. Our daughter stayed in the hall and had B and B and said the breakfast was delicious. The owners were charming plus they had a new puppy for us to play with all together a wonderful stay.”

                                                                                                                                                           robinandwendy

 

  • June 2019

Superb Stay!

“The residence is stunning, the breakfast is incredible, the welcome is really informal and relaxed. Felix welcomed me in straight away offering tea or coffee, note I had arrived outside of the standard check in time. The Room was really nice with all you could need in it. Went to the pub across the way for a great dinner. The breakfast prepared by Charles beats any hotel spread hands down. He too was a real pleasure to speak with before setting off to work. I will certainly be back, it was a real bargain.”

                                                                                                                                                               AlanandShel,

 

  • June 2019

Honeymoon heaven

“Myself, my new husband, and our combined families stayed at Breedon Hall both pre and post our wedding. What a perfect start to married life! Though the surroundings are plush - with comfortable rooms, filled with welcoming, finishing touches - we were immediately made to feel at home. 

Being able to breakfast together the morning after our nuptials was particularly special, and what a breakfast. We couldn’t have wanted for more. And what superb sausages! 

Thank you, Charles and Charlotte, for notching up the dial on an already incredible weekend.”

 

                                                                                                                                                                agsomerfield

  • May 2019

An outstanding military reunion!

We had booked Breedon Hall through Charles and Charlotte a year in advance for our military reunion annual dinner. The event was held over the bank holiday weekend of 24-27 May 19. We booked rooms for 8 people, additional breakfasts for up to 7 and dinner on the Saturday night for 13. 

The rooms were exceptional and everyone commented on how special they were! The dinner of the Saturday night was out of this world - Charlotte had catered for a variety of tastes for the dinner and the whole meal, without exception was outstanding! The breakfast too, deserve a special mention - so many choices, such quality and amazing presentation!

Breedon Hall is a gem - beautiful accommodation, cordon-bleu catering of the highest quality and exceptional service at all times. This is 5-star living at its best!

We have a family celebration next year and now know where to book!”

                                                                                                                                                           robjhou,

  • May 2019

 

High-quality country Hotel Bed and Breakfast and wedding venue

“Breedon Hall is a high-quality country house hotel which deserves 5 stars. It is decorated to a high standard and furnished like a 5 star hotel. The prices however are very competitive and the food is cooked superbly. Breedon Hall is a country house with great grounds and a venue for weddings as well as having Mews cottages available also. Set in a great location, handy for Leicester and surrounding tourist attractions. Paul Davies (Historian)”

                                                                                                                                                                  Paul Davies,

  • May 2019

Genuinely run by two charming entertaining and entertaining owners

Breedon as a village is nicely located near the M1 and East Midlands Airport. Within a few miles you have the excellent Calke Abbey and Staunton Harold. Ashby de la Zouch provides services and a traditional high street. For a more wholesome, salubrious experience you have the wonderfully real Coalville. The nearby Whitwick has a multitude of places to walk and pubs to visit. 

The Hall itself is fabulous. It feels like a home and you are welcomed as a guest rather than a customer. At Christmas, we visited a COMPARATIVE ESTABLISHMENT IN ANOTHER REGION and found the owner to be somewhat overly proud of his property and somewhat snooty about his concept/world/hotel/views. Booking Breedon Hall reestablished by faith in quality, unique hotel accommodation. 

We were greeted with a friendly smile and an invite of tea or a glass of wine on the lawn, recommended the pub and offered reservations and left to sit in the garden and just chill out. The garden is fantastically arranged and makes you want to take pictures and leave with ideas for your own garden. 

The next morning breakfast was well prepared and the conversation well balanced, fun and friendly. This comes from a person who normally hates hotel conversational banter as an exercise of fakeness and time filling. Both owners have real genuine character and the chemistry between them. I have no idea of their hospitality training or background but I would say they come over as naturals. 

Excellent location, excellent property and excellent owners. GOOD SHOW.”

                                                                                                                                                            Andy956200,

 

  • April 2019

Our overnight stay with friends was fabulous! Warm & welcoming hosts, superb home and gorgeous rooms with very comfy beds! Full English Breakfast was just perfect! ...thanks, Charlotte & Charles
I’m sure future guests will be treated “royally” as well!

                                                                                                                                                                 Sandra G,

  • April 2019

What a beautiful place

We have just spent a superb night at Breedon Hall. The hospitality was fantastic from Charles and Charlotte, delicious breakfast and such a beautiful suite (we stayed in the Quorn Room). A majestic house with perfect self-contained cottages in the grounds. 

We highly recommend this property to anyone who enjoys a little luxury, first class service, and a hearty breakfast, and our two cockapoos were made to feel very welcome too!

                                                                                                                                                                     Lucy W,

 

  • Apr 2019
     

Comfort in style

‘’This is a beautiful place to stay. The building is elegant, the interior is stylish and comfortable, and the hosts are friendly and welcoming. The breakfast is special, with good quality, local or homemade offerings, including delicious granola, creamy yoghurt, fresh fruit, cooked breakfast and a variety of breads. Even the preserves are homemade. A few minutes away is a great pub, so not far to go for a good evening meal’’

                                                                                                                                                                Jules8Poole,

 

  • Mar 2019
     

“What a discovery! We needed accommodation for my husband, myself and our dog, Polly whilst attending a birthday celebration nearby. We could not have made a better choice. Charlotte and Charles are delightful hosts, the bedroom (The Meynell Room) was superb - spacious, spotlessly clean, beautifully presented and with an excellent large ensuite shower room. The tea and coffee making facilities were much appreciated as were the accompanying biscuits and the bottled water. Then there was breakfast - freshly cooked by Charlotte and what joy to be presented with properly cooked flavoursome baby tomatoes along with the delicious bacon, mushrooms, beans, sausage and, my favourite, fried bread! With homemade granola (the best ever) and marmalade, fresh fruit and yoghurt what more could one desire? We should love to stay at Breedon Hall again and would recommend it without hesitation.”
 

                                                                                                                                                           Scatty_Patty2014,

 

  • Feb 2019

 

 “Stayed at Breedon Hall as part of a wedding party. Breedon Hall itself is a stunning building in a tranquil location. The rooms certainly matched the exterior and were full of character. The owners couldn’t do enough for us and we're more than happy with 10am breakfast request. Furthermore, they were accommodating with my allergies (gluten & lactose free) and having contacted ahead of my stay ensured I was more than provided for. 
All in all Breedon Hall is a beautiful place to stay and I would recommend to anyone.”

 

                                                                                                                                                             leewilson83

 

  • Nov 2018
     

Lovely building and owners, dog-friendly and a great breakfast!

“We recently stayed here on a Saturday night as we booked a meal at a local pub. The rooms are dog-friendly and we had a lovely cosy room on the top floor.
The owners are really welcoming from the start. and there's a roaring fireplace in the lounge area you are invited to use. We booked our breakfast slot for 10.30 am as a late Sunday breakfast and this was no problem. The breakfast was great, good coffee and local produce. Homemade granola was also offered, and my vegetarian girlfriend was pleasantly surprised to be given a huge portion of smashed avocado on toasted sourdough bread (I was quite jealous).
They also have 3 self-contained rental cottages, so if you want privacy no problem. Lots of parking and highly recommended!”

                                                                                                                                                                   

      fabioo748,

 

  • Oct 2018
     

Charming, quiet hideaway

“We stayed overnight for a birthday treat -it’s a great base for exploring National Trust properties. The property is beautiful with a great renovation project undertaken by the hosts- we loved the photos of the transformation. It was nice to be welcomed with tea and biscuits and it all felt very comfortable. Breakfast is a lovely affair with guests all sitting around the table having a sociable time whilst eating a full English or lighter option. Sadly we did not meet Charles and Charlotte but we were well looked after by their very able son and his friend!”

                                                                                                                                                                    486Allypally,

 

  • Oct 2018

     “We stayed at Breedon Hall for one night whilst visiting our son, who works In nearby Derby. It seemed clear from previous Trip Advisor reviews that we were going to be staying at a pretty special B&B. And so it proved to be!

    Breedon Hall is a stunning Georgian country house both inside and out. The owners, Charles and Charlotte, have created a B&B that is not only beautiful and elegant but also welcoming and characterful. The bedrooms are wonderful, all individually decorated and furnished, with many period features. The room we stayed in had a plethora of beams and exposed brickwork, added to which it was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. And we loved the little touches such as the jar of yummy biscuits and mini bottle of fresh milk.

    At the heart of Breedon Hall's success are Charles and Charlotte, who, as many have said before me, were the perfect hosts. We sat at a big table in their lovely kitchen for breakfast, whilst they produced a very fine full English for us. And then as the coffee continued to flow and more bread was toasted, we got into a great conversation with them and two fellow guests on all manner of topics, including how to become a film extra! It really felt like home from home.

    Our only regret is that our stay was such a brief one - next time we visit our son, we'll definitely return to Breedon Hall for longer. A big thank you to Charles and Charlotte for helping to make our weekend such a memorable one.”

                                                                                                                                                                        Vivien H,
 

“Beautiful building in a beautiful setting, Charles was the greatest host and the breakfast was lovely. Beds are very comfortable and Charles ensured everything was catered for. Beautiful rooms and lovely grounds too”

                                                                                                                                                                     effieperrie,

 

  • Sept 2018
     

 “We chose Breedon Hall as our wedding night venue and it was perfect. Charlotte and Charles did everything to accommodate our late arrival and nothing was too much trouble. We arrived very late and made our way (quietly) to our room! We stayed in the ‘The Quorn’ room, which is just absolutely beautiful with a huge bed, gorgeous furniture and it has the most amazing bathroom with a fabulous roll top bath. Charlotte and Charles had left us some Prosecco and chocolates too, which was a lovely touch! We went downstairs (a little late) for breakfast and we were seated in their beautiful kitchen. We were made to feel so welcome in their home. The cooked breakfast was one of the best we had ever tasted and we were offered toast, homemade jams and marmalade and a selection of juice and hot drinks. Charlotte and Charles were the perfect hosts and Breedon Hall is simply beautiful. Although it was just for one night, we can’t speak highly enough of it and will definitely be visiting again. Thank you Charlotte and Charles, for making our stay so memorable.”

                                                                                                                                                  heatherloumcdonald,

  • August 2018

Warm and welcoming!
“We had a wonderful stay at Breedon Hall. Charles and Charlotte are so welcoming. We enjoyed our chats in the evening and during the big breakfast Charlotte made for us. We enjoyed learning about all the renovations undertaken at Breedon Hall.”

                                                                                                                                                                          Karen A,

 

  • August 2018


Look no further, best place to stay.
“Breedon Hall is a marvellous place to spend a few days in the pretty village of Breedon on the Hill. The Hall offers grand rooms in the house itself but we close to stay in a gorgeous two-bedroom cottage that was once part of the stable block. Mine hosts, Charles and Charlotte could not have been more accomodating. Charlotte was so welcoming, I felt I'd known her for fifty years!”

                                                                                                                                                                           Tom M,

 

 

  • August 2018

Held our wedding here after two years in the planning stages and although the build up was at times a little unstable it came good and was in my opinion and also in that of all the guests an unmitigated triumph.
The venue is beautifully located in the lovely village underneath the stunning Breedon church. The house is a home but lends itself perfectly for the function we required in hiring all the rooms for family to stay. We had the Quorn room which is massive but no shower cubicle but a roll over bath. All the rooms are lovely and fit any requirements.
Charlotte produced a stunning menu which sent everybody in to raptures. Special dietary needs were catered for including special indulgences for the children.
Hired staff held the helm perfectly and steered the ship successfully to a conclusion. Overall splendid.

 

                                                                                                                                                                STEPHEN K,

  • August 2018

 “Charlotte was very welcoming with the offer of a glass of wine and tea, on arrival. The room (Quorn) what can say except wow it was massive, a comfortable king-size bed, gorgeous bathroom with a lovely roll top bath and twin wash basin. In the morning we were greeted in the kitchen by Charlotte for breakfast. While we were eating the delicious home made granola, the English breakfast was being freshly cooked.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Charlotte and Charles are delightful host, oh and Bullet, ( hope Charlotte enjoyed the festival) Thank you for a wonderful stay.”

                                                                                                                                                                     Beanie7217,

  • August 2018

Can I please rate higher than 5?!
‘’Oh my goodness! From the moment we arrived to the minute we drove away we felt like we had just stayed with long lost friends, because that is just how our host, Charles , made us feel in his delightful home.
The fact that two spaniels and a cat completely accepted us in their home too was the icing on the cake for us!
The home itself is genuinely warm and welcoming.. our room “Atherstone” had plenty of bottled water, homemade cookies ( yum!), excellent quality tea and fresh milk in sweet little jugs. The loo and shower were equipped with fluffy bathrobe and pristine towels, luxury handwash and cremes. 
Crisp cotton bedsheets and a super comfy bed that would make 5* establishments in the big city proud too.
Breakfast was cooked by Charles (as his wife was away enjoying herself according to him !) but he certainly stepped up to the mark
Homemade granola was delicious, the fresh yoghurt was clean and fresh and an abundance of summer berries to tempt us.’’
Followed by scrambled egg just as we love it and high-quality bacon rashers. We certainly headed off replete!
If you ask me for the overriding impression of our oh too short stay at Breedon Hall? It has to be the genuinely lovely hosts who not only welcome you into their home, they really do treat you as friends as the conversations and laughter flow
We cannot wait to come back and we most certainly will.

                                                                                                                                                                   Sheenagh B,

  • August 2018

Lovely and welcoming place to stay
“What a lovely place to stay! great welcome from the lovely hosts, made to feel immediately at home in a gorgeous house. Extremely comfortable and well appointed bedroom, simple lovely.
Great breakfast too”

                                                                                                                                                                    Grahamell,

Breedon Hall,

breedon on the hill, Leicestershire

de73 8an

office: 01332 864935

info@breedonhall.co.uk